25.7 C
July 16, 2020

Evolution of the regions: from 5 to 16

Evolution of the regions: from 5 to 16

Ghana started with five regions on March 6, 1957: Ashanti, the Northern, Eastern, Western and the Volta regions.

The first region to be created post-independence was the Brong Ahafo Region. Ghana’s first President, Dr Kwame Nkrumah, introduced the Emergency Powers Act in January 1958 and separated the Bono and Ahafo areas from the Ashanti Region and created it as a separate region with its own…

View On WordPress

Related posts

Ghanaian, Ugandan scientists research into COVID-19 drugs


74 Suspected criminals arrested in Baatsona, Madina


Cheddar donates solar hand washing machine to Ghana Police