September 21, 2020

PPP opens nomination for flag bearer position

The Progressive People’s Party (PPP) has opened nominations for its members interested in becoming the party’s flag bearer for the 2020 presidential elections.

The party will close the nominations on August 20, 2020, after which a virtual selection process will be adopted to elect the flag bearer by the end of August 2020.

The party’s founder, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, is not expected to contest for the position. He had previously led the party to the 2012 and 2016 presidential elections.


The party’s National Secretary, Paa Kow Ackon said, “those interested are to pick the forms at the cost of GH¢5,000 while the filing fees will be GH¢20,000, and so interested contenders are encouraged to express their interest publicly and on our various party platforms,” he said.

Paa Ackon said an expedited, virtual selection process had been adopted to facilitate the process. He, therefore, urged all card-bearing members in good standing to take advantage of the opportunity “to test the waters, determine their competitive standing.”

He said the field was wide open for all those interested since the party’s founder would not be contesting.

Mr Ackon said all interested contenders must demonstrate their capability and strength in restoring Ghana’s hope and glory.

“The PPP has earned the most votes at the presidential and parliamentary levels only behind the duopoly since 2012 when the party was formed,” he stated.

He said the party was determined to improve on its past performance by winning the elections to form the next government and be represented in Parliament.

National Executives

The PPP on July 18, 2020 held a virtual national convention at the party’s headquarters to acclaim its national officers.  The convention was on the theme: “Our turn, our time to take power”.

The elected officers were Nana Ofori Owusu, National Chairman; Felix Ograh, Berlinda Bulley and Ban Saliah, First, Second and Third National Vice chairpersons, respectively.

The immediate past Communications Director of the party, Paa Kow Ackon, is the new National Secretary, with Ms Abena Acheampomaah as Treasurer.

Source: Politics